Thursday, March 16, 1950
E. T. Collins, jeweler and optician, came from Colton. Henry Bowers, also, the Tuckers were an old Stockholm family; the Harpers from Lisbon and Ogdensburg; John and Lester Flint hailed from So. Colton but were Essex county folks. The Daniels family came fro the St. Lawrence Valley much earlier than 1900.
This is not the only village which ceased to draw immigrants when lumbering operations were over. Our town was a little over 90 years old at the turn of the century. Shanties and log houses had mostly given place to those of wood and stone and brick. The place now owned by Mr. and Mrs. Ezra Crump had stood many years, also those of Mrs. A. B. Hale and the "Green Place." Mrs. Hale's had been built by Seymour Howe around 80 years ago, and Roland Greene built the other some years earlier. The house on the Snell place at the Center was probably nearly a century old in 1900 as it replaced Luke Brown's shanty.
The town did not feature many stone or brick houses. The old Parish whiskey store-house and the old tannery are made of fieldstones and were sturdily built.
The town has few ledges such as Jefferson County towns may boast of, much of them limestone. The great forest, however, yielded plenty of material for the many colonial and other styled frame dwellings. No doubt those long-gone housewives were proud and happy when they could leave their primitive homes for a good frame house.
They too have been greatly altered in 50 years. Gradually the old wide board floors featuring huge cracks have been eliminated either by laying new hard-wood ones with carpets or linoleum. Here in an Adirondack village may be seen fine waxed floors.
Fifty years ago the kerosene lamps were washed and filled daily; new wicks added as needed. To-day, the housewife merely snaps on her electric lights, the old kerosene ones now "antiques."